Artemis Quartett - Juliane Banse
Strijkkwartet nr 2 in a, opus 13 Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Liederen voor sopraan en strijkkwartet Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy , Aribert Reimann
Strijkkwartet nr 5 'Versuch über die Fuge' (creatie) Jörg Widmann
ensemble Artemis Quartett
soprano Juliane Banse
violin Natalia Prishepenko , Heime Müller
viola Volker Jacobsen
cello Eckart Runge
Red Bar
In 1826 and 1827 Beethoven's late string quartets appeared in print, which opened up a new world for the eighteen-year-old Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Mendelssohn's profound analysis of Beethoven's late quartets was reflected in his own oeuvre, primarily in the Second String Quartet from 1827. The tremendous mastery of form and originality shown in the work entitled Mendelssohn to be labelled a worthy successor to Beethoven.
Aribert Reimann (b. 1936) can without a doubt be called the most important Lieder composer of our time. As a former Lieder accompanist (to Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, among others), he knows the established Lieder repertory inside out. Departing from the question of why Lieder have always remained bound to the piano, Reimann composed several cycles with various instrumental accompaniments. Further, he has adapted Lieder by Mendelssohn (among others) for voice and string quartet. His arrangements range from simple transcriptions to variations to radical adaptations within his own idiom.
The German clarinettist and composer Jörg Widmann (b. 1973) studied under Hans Werner Henze and Wolfgang Rihm, among others. Widmann's works reveal a powerful ability to assimilate the musical developments of the last fifty years, as well as a youthful, expressive spontaneity.
Reacties (0)

Once a month 2 winners win two tickets to a concert or performance on our programme.

Add your reaction here

more music